آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی ,آموزش گرامر انگلیسی , مکالمه انگلیسی, اصطلاح , لغت , تست , سرگرمی , ضرب المثل, شعر , داستان , نکته ها ی مهم , و اخبار جالب..

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی ,آموزش گرامر انگلیسی , مکالمه انگلیسی, اصطلاح , لغت , تست , سرگرمی , ضرب المثل, شعر , داستان , نکته ها ی مهم , و اخبار جالب..

If and wish sentences (present

 

Study this example situation:

 

Tom wants to call Sue, but he can’t because he doesn’t know her telephone  number.

 

He says:

 

If I knew her number, I would call her.

 

Tom says “If I knew her number…" This tells us that he doesn’t know her number.

He is imagining the situation. The real situation is that he doesn’t know her number.

 

When you imagine a situation like this, you use a past tense form (“I did / I had /1 knew,” etc.) after if. But the meaning is present, not past:

 

• Tom would travel if he had more money. (but he doesn’t have much money)

 

If I didn’t want to go, I wouldn’t. (but I want to go)

 

• We wouldn’t have any money if we didn’t work. (but we work)

 

We also use the past for a present situation after wish. We use wish to say that we regret something, that something is not as we would like it to be:

 

I wish I knew Sue’s telephone number. (I don’t know it.)

 

Do you ever wish you could fly? (You can’t fly.)

 

I wish it didn’t rain so much in this city. (It rains a lot.)

 

It’s crowded here. I wish there weren’t so many people. (There are a lot of people.)

 

I wish I didn’t have to work. (I have to work.)

 

In if sentences and after wish we use were instead of was:

 

• If I were you, I wouldn’t buy that coat. (hut I am not you)

 

• I’d go out if it weren’t raining. (but it is raining)

 

I wish my room were larger. (but it isn’t very large)

 

Do not use would in the if part of the sentence or after wish:

 

• If I were rich, I would buy a castle. (not if I would be rich)

 

• I wish I were taller. (not I wish I would he taller.)

 But sometimes I wish. . . would.. . is possible.

نظرات 1 + ارسال نظر
جاناتان مرغ دریایی دوشنبه 8 تیر‌ماه سال 1383 ساعت 11:56 ق.ظ http://parvaztaoj.persianblog.com

سلام . شدیدا به یه همچین وبلاگی احتیاج داشتم . من واقعا فرصت کلاس رفتن ندارم . خیلی وقته دنبال همچین چیزی می گردم .

برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد